top of page

About the Commission


Establishment & Purpose

The New Hampshire Commission to Study Offshore Wind and Port Development (RSA:374-F:10) was established by the NH State Legislature in 2020.


The purpose of the Commission is to study the potential economic and environmental benefits and impacts of offshore wind development for the State of New Hampshire. The Commission is investigating the economic development opportunities for New Hampshire in supply chain needs, port capabilities, workforce development, energy procurement, transmission and storage, and fisheries and marine environment, to ensure the success of offshore wind in the Gulf of Maine. The Commission may also investigate whether contracts with developers and utilities can deliver lower costs to ratepayers.


Activities and findings of the Commission and recommendations for proposed legislation will be reported annually. Findings and recommendations of the Commission are intended to assist the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM), the New Hampshire legislature, Governor, and Public Utilities Commission to better facilitate the responsible development of offshore wind in the State and Gulf of Maine.

The Commission’s work is in parallel to the work of the Gulf of Maine Intergovernmental Renewable Energy Task Force established by the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM).


The Commission’s 24 members include representatives from the New Hampshire Senate and House of Representatives; key state agencies; Strafford and Rockingham Regional Planning Commissions; the University of New Hampshire; the Community College System of New Hampshire; and other important stakeholders from the commercial fishing, labor, business, and environmental sectors.

Senator David Watters (Chair)

NH Senate

Sen. Kevin Avard

NH Senate

Glenn Brackett


Rep. Jose Cambrils

NH House of Representatives

Kelly Buchanan

Clean Energy NH

Ward Byrne

Joe Casey


Taylor Caswell

NH Dept. of Business and Economic Affairs

Geno Marconi

NH Port Authority

Dianne Martin

NH Public Utilities Commission

Cheri Patterson

New Hampshire Fish and Game Dept.

Tim Roache

Rockingham Planning Commission

Mark Sanborn

NH Dept. of Energy

Rep. Doug Thomas

NH House of Representatives

Jim Titone

Yankee Fisherman’s Cooperative

Sean Clancy

Great Bay Community College

Jennifer Czysz

Strafford Regional Planning Commission

Ted Diers

NH Dept. of Environmental Services

Vandan Divatia

Eversource Energy

Dr. Diane Foster

University of New Hampshire

Tony Giunta

Rep. Cathryn Harvey

NH House of Representatives

Donald Kreis

NH Office of the Consumer Advocate

Former Commission members: Michael Behrmann, NH Dept. of Business and Economic Affairs; Brianna Fiorillo, Clean Energy NH


The Commission meets on a monthly basis. Commission meetings are open to all. Public comments received during Commission meetings will help guide the scope of the Commission’s research. Upcoming meetings are listed in the NH State Senate and House Digital Calendars on the General Court website. Check the calendar to find out more about upcoming meetings or browse meeting archive to learn more about past Commission meetings.

The Commission established topic-specific committees to further study the impact of offshore wind development on four focus areas​. Committees will develop a set of recommendations intended to guide the Commission’s work. Committee meetings, like general Commission meetings, are open to the public.



About this website

This website was created under the direction of Senator David Watters, Chair of the New Hampshire Commission to Study Offshore Wind and Port Development, to provide information about the Commission and about offshore wind development in the Gulf of Maine.


Arianna Stokes helped to create website content in partnership with the University of New Hampshire Sustainability Institute. Under the mentorship of Commission Chair Senator David Watters, former Commission Vice Chair Michael Behrmann, and NH Sea Grant Director Erik Chapman, Arianna completed a fellowship with the Commission through the UNH Sustainability Fellowship Program in summer 2021. Funding for the fellowship was provided by The Nature Conservancy in New Hampshire. 


Please contact Senator David Watters (Commission Chair) to learn more about this website or about the New Hampshire Commission to Study Offshore Wind and Port Development




bottom of page